It’s that time of the year again!

large-1

large

2014 has been one of the most interesting, stressful and exciting years so far. It’s taught me a lot, some good, some bad. But I thought I’d share with you guys what I’ve learnt.

1. You can’t plan your future, it’s really not that simple. No matter how much you try to create a schedule or time frame, life doesn’t work that way. ‘Next summer I’m going to go to W with X, while still being best friends with Y, oh and I’m going to get a job at Z.’ Everyone is hopeful and don’t get me wrong I’d love nothing more than to have a plan that I can stick to. However, 2014 has made me realise life goes on, yes something may not be what you necessarily wanted. But it has encouraged me to think on my feet and be excited for the future, because I know it’s going to be great. Whatever happens.

2. Make peace with the past. If you don’t it’ll be like an anchor and just bring you down. Don’t let it disturb your present or your future. Time is the best healer, honestly.

3. Friends come and go. But it is the people that are there for you day in and day out that are going to be there long term. Make sure you appreciate them, tell them you love them, thank them, there are thousands of ways to tell and show someone you love them.

4. Being a best friend is one of the most wonderful things in the world. I don’t think that needs anymore explanation.

5. Being an aunty is SO underrated. I love my family, as dysfunctional as they are, I wouldn’t change them for the world.

6. I love travelling and need to do more of it. New York was dreamy, it has spurred on my love of cities.

7. Write a journal, or carry around a notebook. I have one in my bag at all times, if I hear a funny quote or a see a restaurant I want to visit at a later date I write it all down. It’s a nice memo if nothing else.

8. Indulge. Maybe I do this a little too much with clothes and shoes, but you earned it!

9. One text goes a long way. Whether it’s rekindling a relationship, friendship or telling someone you’re there for them. It makes a big difference.

10. Don’t waste time reading rubbish books just to say you’ve read it.

I wish you all a very happy New Year, and I hope you bring in 2015 as you mean to go on. Are you doing anything special?

Take care,

B x

3 thoughts on “It’s that time of the year again!

  1. My 2014 was filled with a lot of EVERYTHING, but somehow I emerged stronger and better. I sure did learn a lot about myself and things in general. Wasn’t all bad, could have been better. I’m glad for the way it turned out. It was a little better than 2013 so no real complaints.

    I really enjoyed reading your post, couldn’t agree more with all that you had to say 🙂

    Hope your 2015 is an awesome year for you. All the best 🙂

      • Yep that’s true. Reflection played a big role in my life this year. Made me see things (and people) a whole lot differently.

        You’re very welcome and thank you. I intend on making the most of it 🙂

Leave a comment