The City That Never Sleeps!

I can say hand on heart, I had the best 21st birthday EVER! I was showered with the most amazing and thoughtful presents. It’s so lovely when people get you something that sums you up, shows you they really care and know you. Whether it’s a present that costs £2 or £2,000. The thought really does count.

Saying that, I was lucky enough to go to New York the weekend after my birthday with my mummy. My family arranged it as a surprise and I had a wonderful time. It was everything I imagined and more, there is something magical about New York. So, I’m relocating… I wish.

We went and did some of the touristy things like; went on a pony and trap ride around Central Park, visiting 5th Avenue and all the big department stores, Marcy’s, Barneys and Bloomingdale’s, rooftop drinks, and going to Times Square. But I think my favourite part of the trip was going to the 9/11 memorial and museum. It was breathtaking and really inspirational, sometimes I think we lose faith in humanity as the news seems to surround us with such negatives events happening all around the world. Even though the memorial was filled with so much sadness, it was also great example of how many good people there are in the world.

Our hotel, The Viceroy, was in such a good location, between 6th and 7th Avenue so near the fancy shops on 5th, but also only three streets in from Central Park. The Viceroy also won best rooftop bar in the city, so you can imagine the views. The food was delicious, Kingside is the place to be, 1920s diner feel to it. Not to mentioned we saw James Nesbitt!! The only thing I didn’t enjoy was the portion sizes, but that’s America for you. Long story short, what I’m basically saying is, stay at The Viceroy if you venture to New York and you WON’T regret it, I promise. Not to mention the dishy Concierge!

These are my top five things to do in New York…

1. Visit Time Square, even though I do think Piccadilly is better, it’s worth a look just to see the lights and feel the hustle and bustle of the city. I was like a moth to a flame.

2. Central Park, you’re able to see where so many movies were filmed and enjoy a walk around the man made park.

3. Go to a rooftop bar, the views are picture perfect.

4. Magnolia Bakery, need I say more? (I am the BIGGEST Sex and the City fan)

5. Go do something cultural that only New York has to offer, whether it’s visiting the Met, 9/11 memorial, the Brooklyn Bridge etc.

I really can’t wait to go back! I miss it already. Oh and their bars stay open until 4am, what’s not to love?

Take care,

B x

IMG_2167IMG_2156IMG_2157Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with m5 presetIMG_2183Processed with VSCOcam with m3 presetIMG_2195IMG_2202IMG_2208Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetIMG_2229

Leave a Reply

